Thoughts on Thoughts: Why I must write

I love writing.  I wish I had more time to do it. 

There is a constant dialogue that’s going on in my brain.  It’s like a hum of words and thoughts, sometimes related to what I’m doing at the moment, but often not.  Mental white noise.  I’ve tried to explain this to Smartypants, and he just raises his eyebrows with that look of “okay….should I be concerned about this?” 

Anyone out there relate with this? 

The hum of thoughts can get so strong that it begins to distract me.  I feel like I’m going to burst if I don’t stop and think about my thoughts.  Every couple days, I need to sweep up and tidy the tangle of thoughts that accumulate as quickly as the monstrous dust bunnies under our sofa.

Writing sorts through and makes sense of these jumbled thoughts and emotions.

So I write. Trying to find my own voice.  Learning to be comfortable with it.  To be honest with myself.  And with others. 

Writing will never take the place of a good conversation.  But the power of words can be used for good, whether in spoken or written form.  And that is also why I continue to write.  To learn how to harness words for good, and not for harm.

5 thoughts on “Thoughts on Thoughts: Why I must write

  1. Have you heard of the book Strengthfinders? One of my strengths was what they termed “intellection”. My husband laughed aloud when I told him that my frequent distraction by my own stream of thoughts was due to my “intellecting”.
    I used to believe it was a curse. A flaw. An adult form of attention deficit. I’m working on finding and seeing the strength in it instead. Just as you said Brenda, it definitely can be both a blessing and a curse, but hopefully we can find ways for it to be more of a blessing. Not sure yet what that looks like, but I’m glad all of us are continuing to pursue the joy of writing, in whatever manner we can. :)
    And I’m glad I’m not alone in this!

  2. oh yes, i can completely relate! i sometimes lay in bed awake at night “writing” in my mind. if only i could actually be writing during those wee hours i would have volumes and volumes written……!

    • THAT’s the worse. when you just can’t fall asleep because the thoughts are bursting out of your mind and oozing out of your ears. :) and the hubby is sleeping sound as a baby.

What do you think?

