Bath Paint Recipe

I love this idea for bath paint from Jill.  Check out her fun blog, Meet the Dubiens.  It’s packed with great ideas.  I can’t wait to try this out with my son.  Especially because I recently wanted to buy bath paint but was appalled at the price.

All you need to make this bath paint is food coloring and foaming shaving cream.  Just mix them together in a container of your choice.  A silicone muffin pan is a great choice.  Sounds like it cleans off easily and doesn’t stain the grout.

This bath paint is better suited for older kids who will use it properly.  Shaving cream can irritate the skin and cause a rash.  I would recommend choosing a shaving cream formulated for sensitive skin, or test a small amount on your child’s skin before making the bath paints.  Really young kids probably won’t do well with this bath paint since they may tend to get it all over themselves and accidentally rub it into their eyes.  Shaving cream also should not be eaten.

On a total aside…  The pictures she has posted of her kids painting in their bathtub has made me realize how nasty my bathtub looks compared to hers.  I think I will go clean my bathtub now.

What do you think?

