Bookworm Corner: The Tale of Three Trees

Bookworm Corner chronicles my own exploration of children’s literature as I wander through the bookstores with my kids.  I think I enjoy these bookstore trips even more than they do…

The Tale of Three Trees: A Traditional Folktale
retold by Angela Elwell Hunt
The first time I read this story about 10 years ago, I cried.  It still remains one of my favorite stories.
Three little trees each have their hopes and dreams.  When life takes an unexpected turn, they are discouraged and disappointed.  They question their worth.  They forget their dreams.
In the end, the three little trees each discover that their dreams did come true, but in very unexpected ways.  They discover that they each had an important role in God’s plans.
There’s another version of the story by Catherine McCafferty, titled The Legend of the Three Trees.  The story also is found in Helen Frazee Bower’s book God’s Trees and Other Stories to Tell, written in the 1950’s.  I have no idea where I could find a copy of such an old book, but I would love to get my hands on it.
There is no better time to read this story than during Easter weekend.  I enjoy the excuse to buy candy.  I enjoy seeing my kids beaming with pride at having “found” big plastic eggs that were in plain sight.  I like the bright colors and springtime theme.  I even don’t mind wearing a headband with rabbit ears when it means I get to hear the kids giggle.But most of all, I love celebrating the new life I have as I trust in Jesus’ death and resurrection.  I need this celebration and reminder more than ever.  Motherhood has exhausted me.  The scrutiny and judgement of others (real or imaginary) has discouraged me.  The elusive search for finding “balance” in life has frustrated me and drained me.  What my heart really needs and craves is to celebrate the life I have.  For me, that life is made new in Christ.
1 Peter 1:3
Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! 
In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead…
What do you think?

