Swim Safe: A Review of Swimming Pool Safety Guidelines

Originally posted on Well Child Chats:

I used to know that summer has arrived by my sudden urge to go to the beach and drink smoothies.  Now that I have kids, summer’s arrival is instead marked by their incessant plea to go outside and play with water.

Summer is still technically a long ways away.  We are spoiled here in San Diego though.  Recent spells of bright sunny days has got me thinking about trips to the pool and starting swim lessons for the kids.

With thoughts of the pool, I am reminded of my son’s pool accident last year.  My son had come along with me to a backyard party where there was a pool without a fence.  Sure enough, towards the end of the party, I saw my son slip into the pool from the corner of my eye.  Without even a moment’s thought, I leapt into the pool and swam to him just as he was being pulled out.

He…

View original 709 more words

What do you think?

