The Value of Fun

This about captures what life has been feeling like most days.

Topsy turvy.  Chaotic.  Silly.  And not so graceful.

What matters most at the end of the day though…  We are having fun.  Despite the tantrums and tears.  The mess.  The discipline and hard lessons.  Despite the love-hate battles between brother and sister.  Despite feeling like some days are such a blur.

But as we remember to have fun together, it’s like a soothing salve that seeps into the little cuts and scratches of our heart from the day.  It reminds us that we are in this together.  We haven’t lost touch with each other.

My children are growing up faster than my heart can bear.  As I struggle through the challenges and doubts of parenting, I have come to value the inherent power of fun.  Simple spontaneous fun.  The kind that doesn’t require batteries or gadgets, but does require slowing down and paying attention.

To dole out dinosaur kisses and tickle hugs.

To sing at the top of my lungs.

To enter their world of pirate ships and secret caves and have entire conversations about things that really make no sense at all.

To tumble and leap, hide and seek, and allow them to linger in my arms for just a bit a longer.

In the midst of juggling life’s demands, the value of having fun together is easily lost.  It took about 3 years to get to a point where I’ve learned to loosen my hold on life, schedule, expectations, and self.  I’ve never been happier as a parent since.  It doesn’t mean things don’t need to get done or personal dreams are lost.  Instead, the difference is a subtle shift in priorities and perspective that allows the flexibility and willingness to seize those brief opportunities to connect with each other.

My children have taught me that fun is valuable.   The time we take to have fun together means the world to them.

And to me.

4 thoughts on “The Value of Fun

  1. i was just thinking about writing something similar myself.. about how our rides to the playground are inevitably interrupted three or four times a block to pick up this or that interesting leaf or stick or rock or… impatient me ends up saying something like, ‘do you ever want to GET there?’ uh duh, you’re already there, silly! right where your kids are, inspecting whatever piece of the world catches their eye

What do you think?

